top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSHANNON ROCHE

Powertoolz!

Today I attended the power tools workshop to help build some temporary walls for the exhibition. It was so out of my comfort zone, I have never used power tools before so I didn't really know what to expect.

When we first arrived at the makerspace Ross talked through what we were going to do, how we were going to do it and what tools we would be using.

Then we split off into two groups (I was with Poppy, Ella and Victoria) and we bagan to make the frame. First we worked in pairs to make half of the frame, as seen below:


Before we got the hang of the tools we did make a mistake- the nail went through the bottom of the wood, creating a crack. The good thing was that it wasn't anything to be worried about, to fix it all we had to do was make another hole for the nail above the previous one.


After both halves of the frame were made we then joined back together and connected the two sides. Once the frame was complete we got some of the wooden sheets and placed them on the bottom of the wall to create a stand and also on both sides of the frame:





After 4 and a half hours this was the final product!



We signed our names on the inside of our wall and called it a day.

This was a very tiring job as it was very hands on but it was worth it and I did have fun. I feel more confident with power tools now. Also now that I know where the makerspace is and understand the rules and tools I feel like I would be more conformable to go down there and make some frames or something for future projects than I did before.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page